New Music Tuesday: Over Andover

New Music Tuesday: Over Andover

I’m a day late but still bringing you guys new music! This week’s featured artist is another local band, known as Over Andover. Centered in Linthicum, MD, these 5 guys came together to form a band back in high school. Band members include Clay Franz (vocals), Brendon Willis (guitar), Brandon Shreve (guitar), Kenny Willis (drums), and Patrick Elam (vocals, base).

over-andover-2
From l-r: Brendon Willis, Patrick Elam, Brandon Shreve, Kenny Willis, Clay Franz

These guys are freaking awesome–they have an awesome pop punk sound that just hooks you in. I initially discovered them when they first followed me on Twitter during my senior year (so, about 2 years ago). At the time, OA was just a random band following me, which happened every so often. But I noticed that they were a local band, and that made me curious if they were any good. So I headed over to their Bandcamp site, listened to their debut EP Running In Circles, and fell in love at first sound. They have an awesome pop punk sound that’s clean and gritty at the same time. Needless to say, I couldn’t wait for a full album!

And then, in spring 2016, Over Andover dropped their first full-length album: Somewhere Safe. It was more of their awesome sound and well-written lyrics, and I was not disappointed in the least! And better yet, the album includes two FRIENDS references! The album features two tracks titled “The One Where Underdog Gets Away,” and “Courtney Cox.” I’m a little biased if I say those two songs are among my favorites from this album. My number one track on Somewhere Safe, though, is “Jet Black.” You can listen to the album here or below.

I have yet to see Over Andover live, unfortunately. It seems like every time they have a concert, I’m already booked with something else! One of these days I’ll make it happen though, because I would absolutely love to hear their music live.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All photography credits to Elizabeth Peterson Photography. If you like these amazing photos she took, head over to her Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter to see more!


And that’s today’s New Music Tuesday! I hope you guys enjoy this new music, and I definitely recommend trying to see them live. To keep up with Over Andover, follow them on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter! And click here for links to my own social media for updates on future posts!

Leave a Reply

