New Music Tuesday: The Maine

New Music Tuesday: The Maine

Back when I first started listening to pop punk, I was using an iHeartRadio station. If I heard a song I liked, I wrote down the artist’s names, and took my list to the local library in search for their albums (dork that I was…and still am!). And clearly, The Maine was one of them. To clarify, this was long before I used Spotify. I only ever found one album, Black and White, by The Maine, and since Spotify wasn’t in my life yet, I only had that one album saved. I never listened their other music until I was recently reintroduced to the band.

I recently joined a Facebook group for music bloggers, and one member, running the blog Octivoria, recently uploaded a review of The Maine’s latest single, “Black Butterflies and Deja Vu” off their upcoming album Lovely, Little, Lonely (TBR 4/7). I enjoyed her review a lot–and the song–and decided to finally get back into the band. I very much wasn’t disappointed.

the maine 2
From l-r: Jared Monaco, Garrett Nickelson, John O’Callahan, Patrick Kirch, Kennedy Brock

So who is The Maine? They’re an alternative rock band from Tempe, Arizona. 2017 actually happens to be the band’s 10-year anniversary, so congrats guys! The band is currently signed with Eighty One Twenty Three. The member lineup include John O’Callahan (vocals), Jared Monaco (lead guitar), Garrett Nickelson (bass), Patrick Kirch (drums), and Kennedy Brock (rhythm guitar).

While they haven’t released a music video yet for “Black Butterflies,” The Maine has released one for the other single off Lovely, Little, Lonely, titled “Bad Behavior.” That single is also very good, and just reaffirms my belief that the new album will be great! You can watch the music video here:

What I personally love about their sound is that it’s just down to earth. It’s fun and grounded, upbeat and a bit poppy while also mixing in rock elements. I think that for them, a mix like that works very well. Listening to their music again and getting a more well-rounded idea of their sound other than the one album I had heard was a great experience, and made me very curious and excited to hear what the new album will sound like!


Like what you hear? Go follow The Maine on Spotify, and check out their website for more info about the new album, their upcoming tour, and more! You can also follow The Maine on FacebookTwitter, Tumblr, and Instagram, and add them on Snapchat (wearethemaine). For more videos, subscribe to their YouTube!


Like what you read? Give this blog a follow! (Button is below.) And be sure to click here for links to my social media, which you can follow for regular updates on future blogs! If you’re a band looking for a promotion opportunity, feel free to email me for consideration for a future post!

2 thoughts on “New Music Tuesday: The Maine

Leave a Reply

