New Music Tuesday: New Found Glory

New Music Tuesday: New Found Glory

Aaand we’re back! Hopefully I’ll be back to a regular blogging schedule, so my apologies!

Like with Real Friends, New Found Glory has been one of those bands who’s been around for a while (20 years to date, actually). And while I’ve heard their name around constantly, I had only heard a couple of songs, like “My Friends Over You” and “Vicious Love.” Although the latter I listened to because it had Hayley Williams of Paramore in it, and she’s freaking badass! Fun fact, if you didn’t already know: Williams and guitarist Chad Gilbert are married. It helped that the music video for “Vicious Love” was funny.

(And yes, I’m sort of using my blog to make myself listen to bands I should’ve listened to long ago…but hey it’s worth it!)

So who is New Found Glory? They’re a 4-piece rock band from Coral Springs, FL, who have been together since 1997 (which coincidentally is the year I was born, so this band is as old as me!). The band is currently signed with Hopeless Records (Taking Back Sunday, Tonight Alive). Members include Jordan Pundik (lead vocals), Chad Gilbert (lead guitar, backing vocals), Ian Grushka (bass guitar) and Cyrus Bolooki (drums)

NFG3
From l-r: Jordan Pundik, Ian Grushka, Cyrus Bolooki, Chad Gilbert

So yeah, I never got around to listening to their music until now. And not only did I love it, but I liked it to the point where I wish I had gotten around to listening to them sooner! Their earlier stuff is classic 2000s punk, and their more recent music maintains that sound while modifying it to sound modern. And these guys know how to make that modification of a genre’s sound still sound freaking great.

And it’s perfect timing that I began listening to their music, because the band releases their ninth studio album, Makes Me Sick, in just 3 days!! They’ve already released two single off the album, including “Happy Being Miserable” (2/16) and “Party On Apocalypse” (4/14).

New Found Glory also began their 20 Years of Pop Punk tour on 3/22–click here for dates and ticket info (fair warning: most stops are sold out!).


Like what you hear? Go follow New Found Glory on Spotify, and check out their website for more info about the new album, their tour, and more! You can also follow Real Friends on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. For more videos, subscribe to Hopeless Records’ YouTube channel!


Like what you read? Give this blog a follow! (Button is below.) And be sure to click here for links to my social media, which you can follow for regular updates on future blogs! If you’re a band looking for a promotion opportunity, feel free to email me for consideration for a future post.

2 thoughts on “New Music Tuesday: New Found Glory

Leave a Reply

