New Music Tuesday: The Downtown Fiction

New Music Tuesday: The Downtown Fiction

I gotta say, I almost forgot about this band. How, I really don’t know.

The Downtown Fiction. If you’ve heard anything by them, it would probably be their song “I Just Wanna Run”  (2010). So yeah, that song came out 7 years ago, BUT the band has continued to be active and has actually released 5 EPs and 2 full-length albums. Surprised? Honestly, so was I. But I have to say, I’m so glad that I re-stumbled upon them because the rest of their music is actually really good.

downtownfictionpromo2016
From l-r: David Pavluk, Cameron Leahy, Wes Dimond, Kyle Rodgers

The Downtown Fiction is a power pop/pop punk band from Fairfax, VA. The band initially signed with Fearless Records, but I believe they’re now with Photo Finish Records. Interestingly enough, the band’s name is actually inspired by the hit cult film Pulp Fiction. Members include Cameron Leahy (lead vocals, guitar), David Pavluk (bass, backing vocals), Wes Dimond (lead guitar), and Kyle Rodgers (drums).

Last year, The Downtown Fiction released their fifth EP, titled Alligator Tears. Since I was simultaneously listening to a mix of their older and newer songs, I was better able to notice the growth in this new EP. I feel like they transitioned from their energetic pop rock sound and developed it a bit more, calmed it down while still maintaining their usual energy. I would definitely give it a listen.

The band’s latest music video, released last May, is for their single “Hepburn Shades” (Alligator Tears, 2016), featuring Matilda Lutz.


Like what you hear? Check out The Downtown Fiction on Spotify to hear more! You can also follow them on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, and subscribe to their YouTube for more videos. You can also check out their website for tour info, pics, and more!


Like what you read? Give this blog a follow! (Button is at the bottom of the page). And be sure to click here for links to my social media, which you can follow for regular updates on future blogs! If you’re a band looking for a promotion opportunity, feel free to email me for consideration for a future post!

Leave a Reply

